02 Hyundai Elantra - Front Brake Pads, Fluid Flushes

I have a 2002 Hyundai Elantra 4 door Sedan, which I only use to drive back & forth to school and work, averaging about 250 miles per week. It is now at 53426 miles.

Do the fluids really need to be flushed? I got my power steering fluid flushed last year, and recently did it again because the Midas mechanic made it seem like it was really urgent… as well as replacing the brake fluid. So for future reference, how often do I need to perform these flushes? I haven’t had the transmission fluid flushed, but it’s been recommended before…

I took my car into the dealership as per the recall instruction today. The dealer recommended replacing the engine air filter ($60), cleaning and adjusting rear brakes ($72, but I also got this done last year at Midas, does this need to be done again?), and also recommended that the front brake pads be replaced ($335, which I have never done before).

Thank you in advance for your time!

Urgency to flush power steering fluid after a year??? Midas mechanic was late on boat payment…short answer …get a second opinion. AIr filer is a DYI and front brakes…new rotors and pads after 53,000 miles seems reasonable at $350, cleaning rear brakes?

Are you a glutton for punishment?
Taking your car to Midas is essentially asking for “jacked-up” bills for maintenance and repair.
Chain operations like Midas, Meineke, Monro, Sears, AAMCO are notorious for scaring/pressuring customers so that they opt for more than is necessary.

That being said, it is very possible–even likely–that you did need to have your front brake pads replaced. Hopefully that $335 included new rotors and new brake fluid–otherwise you were grossly overcharged.
Brake fluid needs to be replaced every 3 yrs/30k miles, even if the brake pads are not replaced.
However, I question the need for power steering flushes–especially at ~50k miles.

What you need to do is: