Whistling noise in rear of my ‘06 4Runner

I’m not a mechanic, but here’s what I know.

1. The noise does not happen until I’ve reached about 50+ mph. Once it starts it continues at low speeds.

2. The noise will increase to a higher pitch when I start to brake, BUT it fades away after I fully brake.

Because it get higher pitched as I brake, it leads me to believe it’s a brake problem. However I recently (2 weeks ago) had all new pads and rotors put on.

Has anyone else encountered this and know what I should do to fix it?

It seems the thing to do is return to the place that did your brake work and see if they can solve this.

Thanks @VOLVO_V70 but I’m trying to isolate the possible causes so that I can let my mechanic know ahead of time so that he’s not wasting his time. He’s usually very busy. I’m wondering if there is something loose? Any help would be appreciated!

Guesses could be dust guards or possibly seating of brakes, but I think the best option is to do what volvo v70 said if it is some simple oversight they can find it in a jiff. You paid for service, they can make it right or find what it is, for probably free.

If you didn’t have this whistle before the brake job, I would take it back and have them check their work.

If it was there before the brake job, it could be wind whistling through a small rust hole.
I’ve also found whistling from a damaged roof rack that the wind can enter.

Yosemite

Could be a body whistle. Especially if this didn’t start coincident w/the brake work. Make sure all the windows are fully rolled up. Roll each down a little, then back up so it is fully seated. If that doesn’t solve it, then look for anything on the body panel that’s even a little bit loose or missing, like a piece of trim, door seal or molding, etc. Look underneath the car too, esp the plastic air dam at the front edge, and the plastic liner for the wheel wells.