What car should I buy?

I have never had the money to buy a car but that will soon change. So I am basically a novice driver. I also have depth perception issues; only use one eye at a time. I currently live in a very large city but intend to move to the country once I get a car. So I need something with really good clearance. Good gas mileage is also important. Any ideas of what may be a good vehicle for me?

How much money do you want to spend? That will help us decide whether you need a used car or can afford a new one. Also, how far up-the-country are you moving? If you live on a farm, then you might need good ground clearance. If it’s a small town, any car will be just fine. Help us help you, and you’ll have a great time searching for your new car. Remember that whatever you read here is a suggestion. Nothing is more important than what you think of the car or truck after you see it and drive it.

Buy the Consumer Reports car buying guide and read it from cover to cover.

You can get a drivers license as a one eyed driver? Depth perception and peripheral vision are kind of important when driving. Is it really safe for you to be driving? I recommend you buy something small, maybe a motorcycle so that when you hit something or somebody, you won’t do as much damage.

I agree with texases.

Since you are a novice, the scope of what you need to learn about cars in general, and 2009 models in particular, is so voluminous that you really need a good reference source, rather than random recommendations.

Any large bookstore (Barnes & Noble, Borders, etc.) will have the CR New Car Buyers Guide, and it is a comprehensive source of everything that you need to know before you visit showrooms. Once you have narrowed down your choices, be sure to request an EXTENDED test drive so that you can get a really good idea of things like seat comfort, level of road noise, ride quality, etc.