Water pump corrision

I took my Toyota T-100 (3.4l) in for a timing belt and water pump. The garage is telling me that there was too much corrision behind the old water pump and after they cleaned it up, the new water pump will not seat without leaking. I looked at the block while they had the water pump off and I did not see any excessive corrision. The garage’s only solution is to get a new block (used/rebuilt/new engine.) While I am no professional mechanic, I have never heard of this. Anybody have any thoughts or ideas?

I’ve never heard of this before. Without a photo, it’s hard to say yea or nea.

It’s a fairly large assembly (for a water pump), and the gasket has to cover a good amount of area. It’s possible, if you’ve run a lot of water, and not enough anti-freeze, that the corrosion is just bad enough to wear it away. It’s also possible someone was a tad aggressives in cleaning, and it’s a bit damaged.

I’m not sure a replacement block is the only way to go, though. This is just a flat spot where the pump mounts, so if it’s pitted enough, there should be a way to weld (alloy weld or whatever) enough to build it up, and then flatten it out so the pump can seal.

Having said that, the only true way to flatten it is machining, which would require engine removal. I’d imagine you could get it pretty darned close though, and the gasket, with some RTV should seal it.

You may not even have to weld. There are products that you can form and smooth, and they harden to almost metal hardness. JB weld comes to mind, but I haven’t seen that in a while. This is just a water seal, after all, and only runs at ~12 PSI.

If The Old Pump Wasn’t Leaking Where It Seats Then I Don’t See Why A New One Would.