Water In Gas Tank - 1988 Honda

I have a 1988 Honda Accord with high mileage. Recently it quit idling when I stopped for traffic light, etc. It started well, ran well, but wouldn’t idle. My mechanic checked it and said it had water in the carb. He cleaned it out and it ran very well for about 2 days; then started acting up again. I took it back to him and he said the same thing with water in the carb happened again. Again, it ran well for a couple of days and same thing again. I took it back to him and this time he drained the gas tank and told me he got out about 2-gallons of water. He suggested I talk to the station owner where I have been buying gas for several years. Before doing that, I pumped a gallon of regular into a clear jug and let it set to see if water collected. No water was apparent. It is running OK now, but before I confront the station owner, I wondered if there could be some way that water might be entering the gas tank from running through puddles, etc. My car has a locking cover over the filler cap area so I am pretty sure nobody is sabotaging me. I just wondered if there might be some way water is seeping into the tank. Or, could the ethanol added to gasoline be causing the problem? But, I remember my dad putting alcohol in his car’s tank in the winter, many years ago, to help with condensation problems. So, I would think ethanol (alcohol) could be a help. Any thoughts from you folks? I would appreciate any comments, suggestions.

Thanks,

Wayne

Why not just start buying your gas from a different station? If the problem recurs, then that would tend to indicate that your mechanic was just spinning a tale–as I suspect. If the problem does not recur, then you can be glad that the problem has been resolved.