Volkswagen Microbus To Return As An Electric Vehicle!

Not this one!

This one!

While I was attending college classes I worked at Volkswagen dealer and regularly drove an air-cooled VW Bus (Volkswagen Type-2) , as we called it. I made parts pick-ups from a VW distributor several hours away.

I actually sort of enjoyed it in a Walter Mitty sort of way. I imagined I was a bomber pilot during WW2 driving that noisy thing! :blush:
CSA

I really like the first one way more than then one to reappear in 2022

1 Like

I think there comes a point when people are just plain out of new ideas and think enough of the old folks have died off to just recycle the old ideas. I’m wondering if the new one will be the same death trap that the old one was? At least they came up with a new color though.

The roads were full of cars that would by today’s standards be “death traps” when the Microbus was introduced in 1950. Even my '61 Beetle (my first car) would be considered by today’s standards to be a “death trap”. The new version will need to be designed and manufactured to modern safety standards to be sold in the U.S., and probably even in Europe. They too have standards now.

The key factors for success will be no different than it is for other EV options; cost, range, “normalcy”, and rechargability. All of those have advanced greatly in the last 10 years, and I expect the new VW van will too. In five years I expect there’ll be even more progress.

Time will tell.

2 Likes

I prefer the 1966 15 windows version. Unfortunately that would cost twice as much today as that new electric VW bus

I’ve actually seen two old VW vans in recent weeks. One looks in decent shape. But the second is lots of holes held together with rust and duct tape.

I agree. The new one is ugly, in my opinion. Specially the very low profile tires, to me useless and a safety hazard.