Old VW right for teen?

My 18 yr. old drummer son needs wheels for transporting his equipment. I would like to see him in an old VW microbus; I was a drummer and drove a '67.

My wife is against this vehicle due to a total lack of safety and convenience features.

I am in favor of it for its low cost of operation plus the opportunity to teach my son about simple mechanics and maintenance, plus the fact that these old split window busses just keep going up in value.

Who is right?

I can imagine no more troublesome and dangerous vehicle. Feet don’t work well as crash absorbing devices. It is one of the few vehicles that is also dangerously slow for modern traffic, handles poorly, especially in wind, and has zero in the way of safety devices, something that a teen driver will likely need over their first 4 years.

Richard, you were lucky to survive the experience. Listen to your wife. She is right.

I had a 67 Bug in the early 80’s and knew someone who had a microbus. The microbus was scarier than the Bug. Both vehicles were deathtraps, I just didn’t realize it at the time. I can’t imagine a low cost of operation for a +40 year old vehicle. I’m going to have to agree with the wife on this one.

Ed B.

Much as it galls me to say, the wife is right about this car choice.

I’ve owned a couple of VW buses, one was a '71 and the other a '74. In their day thay were underpowered, top heavy, and unsafe especially in a front end collision. Today with higher speeds and heavier vehicles sharing the road these buses are just not appropriate for any interstate highway travel.

There are so many safer options in vans and minivans that an old VW is a bad choice. Buy an old minivan, take out the seats, and then you have a modern version of your old bus.