Volkswagen bucking suddenly

I’m a broke grad student with a 1995 Jetta. I’ve had it about four years, and it’s mostly been all right. Granted, it’s mostly held together with luck at this point–my dad’s a former mechanic, and he did a fair bit of work on it before I moved a thousand miles away. The other day on my way to work, the car started bucking and shuddering, especially when I first started moving. I was very nearly out of gas, and I thought that might be the problem. I put some in and things got almost totally better almost immediately. Tonight, the car tries to start, but it won’t catch. My dad thinks I have water in my tank. Would that do this? And will Drygas really help?

While water contaminated gasoline is a possibility it’s also a remote on in my opinion. It does happen, but not to the extent of the complaints blamed on this.

There’s simply not enough info known so as to make much of a guess as to the cause of the no-start as it could be related to fuel, ignition spark, etc.

About all I can recommend is may getting a can of aerosol carburetor cleaner and shooting a healthy dose into the intake somewhere. See if the car will then start and run. If it does run for a few seconds before dying then you can assume it’s related to the fuel system although the fuel system can also be affected by things related to the ignition.
This won’t fix anything but can possibly let you know if the fuel pump has decided to go belly up.

Water in the tank is possible, but not likely. Ethanol in the gas tends to do the same thing as “dry gas” so more dry gas won’t help. It is more likely you finished off your fuel filter by sucking up some gunk that settles in the bottom of a gas tank over time. With an older car like yours this is even more likely.

Get a new fuel filter installed. If that doesn’t help sometimes the fuel pump can be compromised by that same dirt. Hopefully a new filter is all you need.