Very Sad Soccer Mom

My 2006 Chrysler Pacifica has 101K on it. Recently it has intermittent electrical problems. The lights flash, the dashboard pings and flashes, the radio comes off and on, the speakers pop… it’s enough to make a mom with a car full of kids crazy. I like my car and want to keep to 200K. Chrysler can’t find a problem and the car does not act up all the time. It may go a day or 2 with no problem and then pop up again for 15 minutes, 30 minutes or 2 hours…HELP!!!

I’m new to the Car Talk forums and not much of a car expert, but I saw your post sitting reply-less so I thought I’d give you my two cents.

With your car exhibiting so many electrical symptoms, I would expect that any electronically-minded servicer would be able to trace back at least one, if not all of these symptoms to a root cause or causes.

I would suggest you try your luck with an independent shop; I think they see more complex failures like this on a more regular basis. I don’t see any reason you shouldn’t be able to leave the shop with a diagnosis on something like this.

For your own records and for future maintenance, I think it would be a good idea to ask exactly what tests the dealership performed to try to diagnose your electrical problem. It’s possible that they might not have opened up your fuse box at all if they couldn’t reproduce any of your symptoms… in any case it is helpful to know what was tried.

100,000+ on a 2006… that’s pretty impressive Mom!

With electrical problems that varied and widespread I’d suspect a chassis ground.

Check that the ground strap(s) from the engine to the body is intact.

You Must Be A Very Busy, Very Sad Soccer Mom. You Never Answered When I Gave Suggestions When You Posted This Problem In June. Oh Well, I Understand. Let Me Try Again.

In June you said it was a 2005 Pacifica. Is it indeed a 2006, I hope ?

I asked if you’d try smacking the dash top padding when it acts up to see if there’s a loose connection there.