Used Mercedes vs New Mazda

Wondering any opinions on the following: I am moving from overseas and need to decide if I invest (approx $3-4K) in shipping my 2010 Mercedes Benz C300 with 22,300 miles or sell if (likely all I’ll get is Black Book value) and buy a new Mazda CX-5. I am moving to a state that gets snow, so thinking an SUV may be more practical. But not sure about the trade off between the Benz and the Mazda … will have to shell out cash either way. Any thoughts?

@MariaJL

I’m going to give you my professional opinion, and you may not like it

I was a Benz master technician for several years, up until 2009, so I’m familiar with your car

Get rid of it

W204 chassis . . . junk, not as bad as the predecessor, but not Benz’s best effort
272 engine . . . junk, mechanical problems up the wazoo
722.9 automatic transmission . . . junk, mechanical and electrical problems

The longer you hang onto this car, the more likelihood it’ll turn into a money pit

db4690 It sounds like you know how to make a small fortune. Start with a large fortune then buy a used Mercedes!

Sell it. And get the Mazda.

MariaJL Does the Benz meet U.S. safety and emission requirements? If not any money spent on shipping would be wasted.

If it was not built to meet US standards, it is too expensive to modify. If you like the car and your current employer will pay to bring the car to the US, bring it home and drive it for a while. You might get more for it here. At 5 years old an only 22,300 miles, you will likely get a lot for it. Trade-in value near DC is $20,330 for a C300 Sport with RWD (not 4-matic) and auto transmission but no navigation or sunroof.The Luxury model is $19.630. If you sell it yourself, you could get $1500 more than trade-in value.

@‌sgtrock21

I’ve heard that the formula works even better with british cars . . .

“It sounds like you know how to make a small fortune. Start with a large fortune then buy a used Mercedes!”

I love it.