Used Car Sale QUESTIONS about the Sale Transaction

3-27-2012 (new question added below @ 8:30AM PDT ):

I’ve used this thread so far to get some great suggestions about selling my used car (since I have never done it before). My next question:

There is always a risk in buying a used car with 140,000 miles. Who knows: The transmission could die six months from now. So, I will need to sell the car “AS-IS.” Is there a pre-written bill-of-sale that sellers use to state AS-IS & document the transactaion? (like on nolo.com or other legal webite).

Being PICKY about who buys my car!
11:00AM PDT

Hi! I own a 1991 Honda Civic that runs perfectly fine. BUT I just got notice that my job position is relocating overseas in May 2012, and I don’t want to ship this 21 year-old car across the ocean. It’s time to sell this car, and buy a new car later on.

The Civic runs well, has been well-maintained, and is in great condition. KBB value is $1500 and market price is $2500+ for similar Civic DXs. I plan to sell my Civic at a firm bargain price ($1,000) since I’m short on time and also hate haggling over price. However, I don’t want the buyer just to ‘flip-it’ for a profit or strip-it for parts (my new tires alone could be sold on Craigslist for $200). I want to sell it to someone locally who is in need of a reliable vehicle at a more-than-fair price. Someone who will keep this car for a couple years (because no major maintainance is expected for about five more years).

If I post an ad about my car (with the low price), I am going to be contacted by flippers and car-strippers. So I probably won’t resort to Craigslist unless I have to. How do I appropriately find someone who is in actual need of a car to buy & drive? Do I hang-out at a used car lot to watch for “car worthy” people as they are entering/leaving?

Suggestions please. Thank you.

Is $1000 for a reliable car a good deal?