Used, attractive, reliable cars under $5k

I am hopefully about to start a new job and will need to have a vehicle for work due to its location and also for occasional business use. I’m an architect and feel I need something professional. In order of importance: For now I want to spend less than $5k, should be attractive/professional (not tacky looking like the older Hyundai), reliable, prefer something environmentally friendly. Eventually I’ll buy an EV but I want to wait until more come on the market and they are tested a bit (second or third generation). I might consider an old Mercedes diesel I could run on biodiesel, but even though people say 150k miles is nothing, I hesitate to buy something with that many miles on it even if it is clean/good looking and has all repair records. I know they sometimes need engine rebuilds at 200k or less… Thanks for your input!

I should also note I’m hoping for something without a ridiculous amount of mileage regardless of the year. Over 110k miles is probably out of the question for gas engine even if it is a Honda. I know some vehicles last a very long time, but I just don’t want to risk it. You don’t hear about the bad ones - people only brag about the good ones. Correct me if I’m wrong.

You need to either lower your expectations, or raise your budget. $5K doesn’t get low mileage cars with the other criteria you list. $10K will get you in the ballpark.

For $5K you go shopping in your area and see what you can find. Craigslist is a good source of cars offered by private owners. Autotrader and Vehix give listed cars from dealers and some private sales.

Stay away from European cars like Volvo, BMW, VW, and MB unless you are OK with high repair bills. Old MB diesels are expensive to maintain unless you DIY.

A Honda Civic, Accord or Toyota Corolla, Camry are your best bets but you won’t get a nice one with low mileage for $5K.