Help! Want to buy an used car with $2500, trouble finding reliable car. Looking for Advice

Hi. I am a student with not a lot of money. That being said I know that without a lot of money I am usually looking at older cars with high miles. Two things I would like to avoid. High Miles (will just eat my money) and old cars (waiting to eat my money)
These are just my thoughts. As a side note I want to buy from an owner directly, and have been checking craigslist for Honda or Toyota cars as they are always talked about as being reliable (owned one of each so far a Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla and they have been great!). The only problem is these cars are expensive and those type of cars in my price range are either old or have high high miles.

The city I live in Milwaukee, essentially requires me to have a car. Big enough city… and public transit isn’t all that great. Now I do plan to start work after I get the car and may be able to do some repairs on the car and/or maintenance which it probably needs. Also I can do all simple car repairs myself and anything over that I have found a reliable mechanic through the car talk mechanic files that is extremely reasonable.

Any and all advice is welcome. I feel like I’m caught between a rock and a hard place. It’s like being stuck listening to the car talk show.

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to reading your responses!

You are caught, and there you shall remain. $2500 and reliable are a tough sell together. You are now in used motor bike territory for reliability. Consider the used pick up market. Expect rust, high miles, poor gas mileage and Toyota prices. Perhaps an older Nissan PU ? Next would be older Focus, Cavalier, Kias and Hyundais. Remember that any car can be reliable, if you only use occasionally and use public transportation the rest of the time…best of luck.