Turning rotors on a Honda Odyssey with 15,000 miles

My husband took our 2007 Honda Odyssey into the dealership a couple days ago because the steering wheel has been shaking when braking for several months now. They said it’s the the brake rotors, but that they’re not covered under the warranty b/c rotors are “normal wear and tear.” So, is there really any reason that our van with 15K miles should need the rotors turned/machined? When I called the dealership today to inquire about it they said it must be the way I drive; however, I’ve never had a problem with excessive wear and tear on brakes/rotors on any vehicle I’ve driven and I’ve been driving for 15 years. Thanks!

One common way to get warped rotors is to over tighten or unevenly tighten your wheel lug nuts. That often happens at tire change places where inexperienced tire changers with hefty impact wrenches tend to over tighten them.

Overheating the brakes, especially followed by splashing through puddles, can aggravate rotor warping.

Contact Honda customer care and complain. You may get them covered. I think wear items on most cars are only covered 1yr/12000 miles.

At 33,000 miles my mother had her rotors turned under warranty on her Honda CR-V when she complained of the exact same problem. Is this the dealer where you bought the car?

I had rotors replaced under warranty at 34,000 miles on a 2003 Sable. There wasn’t enough material to machine them so they had to replace them. I think they should covered under warranty, if they have warped. If they just plain wore out, they would not be covered.