Rotors gone bad

Hi,
I have a 2012 Honda Crosstoyr (less than a year old) that I purchased new from the dealer and have already had my first big service as prescribed by the dealer (2 months ago). Over the past month I’ve noticed when I’m going between 70 and 80mph and quickly put on the brakes, the car shudders (including the steering wheel). Yesterday I took the car in to figure out what was wrong and I’ve been told my rotors are bad and need to be replaced. However, when I inquired about how this happened in less than 15k miles I was told that I probably am heavy footed on the brakes and the friction causes heat which caused them to warp.
I’ve been owning Honda cars for many years (from the same dealer) and NEVER had problems with rotors. Typically, the brake pads need to be replaced first and if you can’t catch them in time, then rotors need replacing. However, I’m perplexed as to why my rotors are bad in such a short time of ownership when I only do highway driving Mon-Fri (80 miles/day). No problems with pads. Additionally, this began happening when I got the car back from the large service.

Are there other questions I should be asking the dealer who says replacement is not covered since I’m beyond 12k miles.
Confused…
Thanks!

Insist they be replaced under warranty. They should not be warped already. If they say no, tell them you’ll be in touch with Honda corporate, and then make good on that promise.

Does Honda still provide a bumper-to-bumper warranty of just 12 months/12k miles ?
If that is the case, then shame on them, as most companies now give 3 yr./36k mile bumper-to-bumper protection, in addition to a Powertrain Warranty of 50k or more.

Anyway, I agree with shadowfax that this should be bumped up to the corporate level.
Contact info can be found in your Owner’s Manual.