Turning Key Won't Start Car My Ford Focus

Hi Everyone. I am a science teacher and I have been having one particular bit of trouble with my car that has gotten worse lately. Any ideas would be very appreciated!

I own a 2009 Ford Focus SE with about 70,000 miles on it. About two years ago, I noticed an issue where sometimes when I put my key into the ignition and turn it, the interior lights/radio come on, but the engine does not start until after a 5 second delay. Also, sometimes when I took my key out, the engine shuts off, but I get a “beep beep beep” indicating my key is in the ignition. I could solve this simply by putting the tip of my key into the ignition and twisting a slight bit. Since I am a teacher with a one-car family, I went to mechanic who put in a new starter. This seemed to work fine for about 8 months or so. After that, it became SUPER HARD to even put my key into the ignition. I then went to a locksmith who replaced the ignition cylinder. This seemed to work for about another 6-9 months. This past few months, the problem returned again and I again had the starter replaced. The issue is now back, but worse. My car now won’t turn over about half the time when I put the key in and turn it, even though all the lights/radio come on. I also get that “beep beep beep” almost all the time. It isn’t the battery because I had that replaced and the situation showed no difference and the cables were fine.

Does anyone have any other suggestions for the potential problem/fix? I appreciate any assistance you all may provide. Thank you!

First off, stop changing starters. That is not your problem so don’t return to the mechanic that did that. I suspect that the ignition switch itself may need replacement, not the cylinder. A good mechanic should be able to fix that or hook a scanner to the car to determine what is actually going on while trying to start the car.