Turbocharging, what needs to be changed?

I am trying to learn a little about aftermarket turbochargers, for big block engines. I know a few basic things, such as low compression ratios, but don’t know if you need a special carb/intake setup to take the pressure from the forced induction. I am not looking for information on 20+ pounds, I am more interested in systems that run 7-15 psi. has anyone here worked with aftermarket turbos? any info would be great. thanks!

While I’m no expert, I think your problems are going to be in the form of proper carb jetting to compensate for the increased CFM and volume metric efficiency. Carb’s aren’t nearly as flexible as injectors are. Beyond that you need to get a set of crankcase extractors to provide draw for crankcase gasses/blow-by since you’ll have no vacuum when under boost.

I’ve been researching a turbo project myself. The problem I have is that no one knows how to manage low boost. Everyone and their brother is 100% geared to max output. I want to run a reliable setup that won’t impact durability with something like 5 lbs of boost. That means I need a small turbo that will spool up at low rpm …and run out of steam at a range below my normal max rpm @ WOT normally aspirated. All that it would do, and all that I want it to do, is move the power band lower in rpm.

No one can think that way …or at least I haven’t found them on my budget.

thanks for the info!

There is no one size fits all when it comes to something like this. Sometimes a camshaft swap may be necessary and if you’re planning on running a turbo and a carburetor this will require some work.

The turbocharger pulling through a carb. is easier. A blow-through setup is more complicated and requires the carburetor be entirely sealed or by using a special carb for this purpose.