Trouble diagnosing noise in SUV

I have taken my 2002 Ford Explorer XLT automatic 4 wheel drive to 3 different mechanic shops - no one can determine what is making the noise my SUV is making. Being I’m not a mechanic, I need someone to figure it out so it can be fixed. 8 weeks and counting trying to get this thing fixed so I can feel safe about driving again.