Transmission Service Questions

Hello. I have a 2008 Toyota Corolla with 49,000 miles on it. I had a transmission service done at 34,000 at my old Toyota dealer. I moved to NYC in October and haven’t driven my car since mid-February (it’s been in storage) and I took it to a new Toyota dealer for an oil change and tire rotation since I will be doing a lot of driving over the summer. They also recommended a transmission service which they said consisted of taking the old fluid out and putting new fluid in. I did some of my own research and am now thoroughly confused. First, what questions should I ask to make sure it is the appropriate service at the appropriate time? Second, what would be the appropriate transmission service (i.e. transmission flush, transmission fluid exchange etc.) Is it something that I should get done right away (especially if it’s been stored for 4 months).

I am a new graduate which we all know what that means…young and broke. I want to make sure that I am taking excellent care of my car since it’s going to need to last me a long, long, long time so any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Tara

There should be a maintenance schedule with the owner’s manual. The schedule will tell you what needs to be done and when. Dealers are known to recommend additional “services” because they make money doing them, not necessarily because your car needs them.

Your transmission should not need another fluid change until about 60K miles or the time interval listed in the schedule.

4 months of storage does not mean the transmission needs service. It means nothing, really. If you’ll be storing the car for a few months you should be adding fuel stabilizer to the gas, but other than that there’s nothing special to do.