Transmission Blues

I am in a quandary about whether or not to have a rebuilt transmission put into my Infiniti G20. Its been a great car, no major repairs, just an alternator. But during a cross country trip the transmission went out and it will cost 4K to replace with a rebuilt one. I know the cars value doesn’t support but if the engine would hold up and give me 50,000 more miles it would really be worth it. I am a student and have 1.5 years to go before graduation. How do I find out if the engine is in good shape.

A compression test, a real one done with a pressure gauge, will give a pretty good picture of engine life remaining…Your Datsun, at 108K miles, should easily go 175-200K miles if you keep the maintenance up. Does it use a rubber timing belt that requires periodic replacement?

It has 108,000 miles

I noticed, sorry…

I’m not sure about the belt, its not a Datsun though, its an Infinity G20. I expected more than 108,000 miles for it, but I need it to be reliable. I go to school in St Louis and live in florida.

For 1.5yrs I would try and locate a used(aka junkyard) transmission and do a little gamble. I think you will win if it works out of the starting gate(when installed).

I would not spend $4k for 1.5yrs, your car is past its average life despite low miles.

I found through the internet a mechanic who said he had an Infiniti transmission from a car that had been totaled, that only had 30K miles on it. I question this because they quit making my model shortly after I purchased mine so how could it be so low mileage. He said it belonged to a “old lady” who didn’t drive much and fell asleep at the wheel. This seems to implausible for me, the circumstances and he wanted $2800 to do all required. Tough decision, but I think you may be right about the 4K.

Caddyman is actually correct, although he is using a bit of jest regarding the brand name of the car.
Here is some reality regarding the car’s provenance: