Toyota Yaris 2010 low idle

Hey!

So I have a Toyota Yaris 2010 1.3, I have had it for about 5 weeks and it’s second hand. From day one I noticed that the car will idle at low RPM (around 500 rpm) it’s quite jerky and shaky, but nothing overly excessive, and it would occasionally cut out but it hasn’t done that lately. I took it to a mechanic who identified two error codes to do with the throttle actuator system. I took it back to the dealership who advised they replaced the throttle, there are currently no warning lights or error codes, but the problem is still present. I feel like I’m shooting in the dark because I have already replaced the air filter, it hasn’t helped, I’m not sure what else I can get checked especially when there are no current error codes or warning lights. It’s also difficult to take it to a garage because they want to run a diagnostics on it which will make me out of pocket just for no error codes. Could it be the spark plugs? I’m completely new to using a Toyota, I previously had VWs, and it feels vastly different, took me a while to get used to it. I don’t want to make a mountain at of a molehill but it just doesn’t run as smoothly as I would hope.

Any help would be appreciated!

You are shooting in the dark. But just throwing parts at the car will cost you more money than that diagnostic fee.

Even with no codes, a good mechanic can look at the various sensors to see what is going on. A 12 year old car, likely with 100,000+ miles on it (you don’t say), can have wear that affect the operation. You don’t have to use the dealer but you need a shop with a scan tool that can view all the systems in real time. If your regular mechanic referred you to the dealer for a throttle system replacement, I’d guess he doesn’t have that tool.

1 Like

If the electronic throttle body on your car is dirty, it can cause a low idle and can even cause the engine to stall.

Tester

1 Like