Toy hybrid

At my recent routine maintenance visit,the toyota dealer service mechanic recommended the following and I’d like to know which, if any, are truly necessary: transmission oil change at 60K mi ($260),inverter flush for the hybrid battery ($190), radiator flush $160, battery cleaning ($60).

First off, which model do you have? Secondly, what does your owner’s manual say?

The transmission fluid change might be a good idea, the radiator flush is probably way too soon and the “inverter flush” and “battery cleaning” sound to me like they’re in the realm of muffler belts and blinker fluid (i.e. made up). But, I dunno, I’m no hybrid expert-- but if they aren’t listed in the maintenance schedule in your owner’s manual, you don’t need them.

The maintenance schedule that came with the vehicle should tell you what’s needed and when it’s needed. The transmission oil change and radiator flush may be legit (although WAY overpriced), but the other stuff sounds totally unnecessary to me.

I think this dealership is making things up. “Inverter flush?” Sounds like a wallet flush to me.

Read the maintenance schedule. If you can find “Inverter flush” I’ll pay for it.

I can only add that I doubt if you need to go to the dealer for most maintenance items. While you have some unique parts in the hybrid, most of the service items are the same for your car as a non-hybrid. You are not obligated to use the dealer for service and using someone else will not invalidate the warranty, but do keep records. Not all dealers are bad (yours sounds like it is however) nor are all independent mechanics good. but independents are almost always less expensive.

I would look for an independent or another dealer if I were you and your dealer is trying to sell you services not included in the list in the owner’s manual.