Is This a Dealership Maintenance - Scam or Real?

In the past 2.5 years, every single time I go to my Toyota Dealership to get the standard maintenance or oil change, they tell me other things that are wrong with my car and need to be maintained, effectively doubling my invoice.

For instance: I just took my car in for the scheduled 30,000 mile maintenance. List price: $359. They just called and told me I needed my fuel injector system flushed, my power steering flushed and my transmission flushed. Final cost: an additional $330 over the original quotes price for the 30,000 mile service.

Am I just imagining that they’re always trying to “up-sell” me, or is it normal for service people to find other problems once they get the car up on the lift?

Is this happening to other people or just me?

I’m no expert but,

It seems like transmission fluid doesn’t need to be changed until 60-70k. Seems suspicious to me.

Do you have an independent mechanic you can go to? Dealerships are mainly concerned with maximizing profit while a smaller mechanic generally cares more about building a base of loyal customers. Also you can get all your basic maintenance done there without voiding your warranty, if applicable.

1 Like

Not all newer cars have a plug to drain, just something to flush the system out. Most likely due to inept Jiffy Lubers draining tranny fluid and doubling the amount of motor oil in the oil pan. 30k is about right to have it changed.

1: fuel injector flush; what are they flushing? Skip it. you could “flush” it out by doing an Italian Tune-up on a back road that’s long and straight(and doesn’t have many cops patrolling :stuck_out_tongue: )
2: PS flush; as far as I know, it never needs changed
3:tranny flushed should be performed if it can’t be drained and refilled.
4: go find somewhere else to take your car to.