Totaled my Lexus. Can you recommend a replacement?

Hello,

I’m a noob here so please excuse me if this post is considered bad form, or redundant. I recently got in an accident and my 2014 Lexus IS250 was totaled. I can’t seem to find a replacement at any nearby dealers. Could anyone recommend a make and model that would have similar features and a relatively close sticker price?

I’m hoping for something reliable, comfortable, with a nice tech package. I don’t necessarily need to go fast.

FWIW I’m looking at the 2015.5 Volvo s60, the Acura TLX but I can’t find many testimonials for either.

Anyone got any comments or suggestions? Is there a car I should be considering, in your opinion?

Somewhat tangential question: do I need the tire warranties or any of that stuff they (successfully) tried to sell me when I bought the Lexus?

Much appreciated!

I cant help with the car selection, but instead of buying a warranty you probably wont need, just take that money and set it aside for repairs. The return on those warranties is about 30 cents on the dollar.

Are you looking for a used car to buy with the insurance payoff? You might buy the Consumer Reports car buyers guide, lots of info there. The ES350 would be a bit bigger, a bit roomier, a bit ‘softer’ in the suspension. Very reliable.

The ExtraCar!

Yes. In fact I bought the IS250 used three short weeks ago. I got a great deal on it and can’t find the same make and model within $2500.

I’ll look into the Consumer Reports car buyers guide. Thanks!

I drove a TLX for awhile while my Acura was in the shop. I enjoyed it. The interior’s very nice looking, especially if you get the “espresso” leather. I wish the styling was a little different, but if you get the 2017 and not the 2018 at least you won’t have that weird plasticky grille.