Tire Repair Questions

My name is Paul Melton and I am a technical trainer for TECH Tire Repairs. Please feel free to ask me questions about any type of tire repair!

1 Like

Welcome to the forum, Paul. Yup, we do get such questions from time to time. We take them as they come.

Hello Paul, I have a possibly dumb question. On a 2006 Mountaineer, I am getting a flashing TPMS fault. I would like to narrow down to either tire sensors or vehicle mounted ā€˜receiversā€™ before I really start digging into it. Is there such a thing as a magic wand which can be held next to each tire to verify it is sending?

Oldcars . . there is a magic wand.
The dealers ( Ford and tire shops ) use it to program and diag. It DOES tell them exactly which one. On a ten year old truck you could easily have more than one with a low or dead battery.

I think thatā€™s usually diagnosed by pro - mechanics via the diagnostic software on the engine or body control computer @OldcarsRbest . In conjunction with the appropriate scan tool. But I wouldnā€™t be surprised if thereā€™s some kind of stand alone gadget available. If there isnā€™t one, it would be something that would sell well to the diyā€™er crowd Iā€™d guess. Good idea.

Thanks for the replies. I was hoping for an owner diagnostic tool of some sort, but if they need to access the on boardsā€¦
I have hopefully another 10,000 miles left on these tires, so I shall live with it for now, and just prepare to wipe the tears off the check Iā€™ll have to write when that day comes.

Yup

http://www.ktoolinternational.com/kti/Tools/Brand-Categories/K-Tool-International/KTI71990/p/KTI71990

I believe you have a ā€œbandedā€ type of sensor. The sensor is mounted on a band, and is 180 degrees from the valve stem

That tool is just one example

Beware, though . . . the battery in the sensor might be strong enough to cause the tool to chirp, but not strong enough that the tpms module picks up the signal

In all likelihood, you have at LEAST one bad sensor.