Timing Belt and Validity of Other Posts?

I see some interesting advice on timing belts, but do the brothers chine in on some of this if they disagree with the post? Is there a way to search programs for the brothers comments on this topic?

I have a 2004 Tundra SR5, and it has 90K miles, which is the recommended point for replacement. A post here mentions that such belts (all vehicles?) are commonly changed by backyard mechanics. I’m certainly not one. Talking to my mechanic suggests it’s a tough job. Comments on the above?

Your mechanic isn’t going to tell you that fixing your car is easy, then bill you $1,000 for the job. He has an interest in you thinking it’s difficult.

I’m no mechanic but I changed the timing belt in my Honda Odyssey having never done anything like it before.

You have to do your research on how to do it. Service manual, Haynes, Alldata, the internet are all good sources of information. How much time are you willing to put into the job researching it, then taking things slow and careful.

You also have to have the right tools. A timing belt change isn’t rocket science, but some of the bolts may be hard to reach, and if the crankshaft pulley needs removed, it can be a real bugger to loosen the nut. Not something you want to try with a cheap ratchet wrench. You also need to have the time available. If you are pressured because the van is needed the next day to get the kids to seven different things that just can’t be missed, you’re gonna screw something up, and with a timing belt, that can be pretty catastrophic!

solarblast…

Click and Clack do not reply to any of these posts. At least they have never done so, in the last 3.5 years, I have been around.

As with every Forum out there on the InterWeb, one should never believe everything that is written in one. Did you first do a search about timing belts, or did you just ask the question?