Thermostat housing - coolant leak

When I bought my used 98 VW Jetta, I knew it had a coolant leak. I took it to a mechanic I knew and trusted (my parents’ mechanic - located on the east coast, while I’m on the west) and he told me the leak was coming from the thermostat housing. I didn’t have time for him to fix it, and now it needs to be done. I have very little experience but want to get my hands dirty. Is this something I can fix myself? Are there any good videos/resources that you can suggest on how to replace the thermostat housing?

Hopefully it is a bad gasket and not a cracked housing. You can fix it yourself if your handy and have a set of good quality tools. I’ve had a Craftsman’s set of wrenches and sockets for a couple of decades. my 3/8" ratchet when bad on me recently after 20 years of service, and Sear’s replaced it for free.

For a decent guide with pictures, register at www.autozone.com and look at the vehicle repair guides. I’d also suggest you look for a repair book, like Chilton’s or Haynes. They only cost $20, but have a wealth of information to repair and maintain your car. They include pictures and step-by-step instructions.

Also, check online at some auto book stores or even ebay for a factory service manual. This is the gold standard of repair books, and may be less expensive, now that your car is 12 years old. I have one for my 22 year old Toyota Supra, and it covers everything bumper-to-bumper with diagrams and schematics. I also have a Haynes manual, but it’s been collecting dust ever since I found the Toyota Service Repair Manual.

Here’s an outfit that sells discount Haynes Manuals and a link to one for the 98 Jetta (gasoline version). http://discountautorepairmanuals.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=darm&Product_Code=D96017-02&Category_Code=V