Th350 transmission no 3rd gear

I have in 1984, Chevy G 20 With a 305 and turbo 350. The vehicle runs and drives flawlessly. However I changed the spark plugs and some dome lighting, and I heard a wire short out which blew two fuses both Which controlled dash lights and tail lights. I replaced both fuses five minutes later went for a drive again and I don’t have third gear. What did I do. No it’s not a governor or the linkage or the vacuum on the module

Have you’ve ever had the transmission fluid/filter serviced?

Tester

I am not a mechanic so bear with me. My wild guess is that it’s barely possible that you screwed up the torque converter lockup solenoid but AFAIK that year those transmissions still had hydraulic controls vs. electronic. And as Tester says, it could also simply be coincidence.

I think you need to go to a trans shop. I had a mechanic blow out the solenoid for my 4th gear. I told him not to but he put a full 12 volts on it testing it and that was enough. So I think some actuator got fried in the process.

Inspect the throttle valve cable connection at the carburetor and transmission.

Thanks guys, I just changed the fluid on the off chance that may have been the problem. No change :/. I was thinking maybe solenoid as well. I may bring it in today

Sorry for my ignorance, what should I be looking for?

1 Like

The TV cable should move in unison with the throttle cable. It should be taught at wide open throttle and pretty much no slack but not “tight” when the throttle is closed. If you’ve knocked it out of adjustment, it’ll change the shift points. It’ll stack shifts if it’s too loose, or delay shifts if it’s too tight. Not sure how it would make you lose third. Maybe if it was extremely tight…?

I think you might be on to something there, maybe.

Check the fuses in the fuse panel. Should be one in there for trans if it has any electronic controls, I’d think.