Test starting a rebuilt FE 390

I have purchased a donor car, a 65 Tbird with a rebuilt 390. The installation of the engine was not completed and the car sat for 10 years. Before removing the engine I wish to test start it. What are the considerations to avoid damage to the engine? What systems are required? I thought I could hook up the fuel pump to a container, no coolant for a 3-4 minute run time, work the trottle by hand at the carb, etc. I am a novice at his sort of thing, please advise.

Before you try to start the engine, you should make sure it turns freely. Remove the spark plugs and squirt a small amount of oil into each cylinder. Then turn the engine BY HAND with a large socket on the crankshaft pulley bolt. The oil will lubricate the cylinder walls, which have been dry for 10 years.

After you are sure the engine turns over smoothly you can hook up the other systems and try to start it.

3 to 4 minutes is longer than I’d run an engine with no coolant.

Squirt some oil in each cylinder first. Ideally, you should mark the distributor and remove it. Use an electric drill to rotate the oil pump drive shaft for a minute or so. This will put oil pressure throughout the entire engine.
(You will feel it pressure up through the drill).

It’s possible that after all of that time that a water pump could leak, a fuel pump diaphragm could be gone, or the carb may need work.

Not anywhere near Oklahoma and yellow in color is it? Just wonderin’. :slight_smile:

thank you mcparadise. your advise seems very sound. I’ll be sure I follow it

Thanks ok4450. I’m in NE PA, far from OK and the car is an ugly green. I’ll look for the oil pump to see if I can put a drill on the shaft.

Thank you