Temporary fix for a headlight unit?

So I recently got into a wreck while making a left hand turn at a green light that had a green arrow. The driver that hit me rolled through his red light for whatever reason and my insurance won’t cover the damage he caused. Basically he cracked the plastic covering of my passenger side headlight and now every time it rains or even the smallest bit of moisture touches that particular lightbulb it blows out. I’ve tried replacing the bulb and covering the cracks with packing tape but that didn’t help for long so now I’m trying a clear epoxy glue. I’m a full time college student with a small part time job so I can’t really afford to pay to have the whole thing replaced just yet. Is there any way I can fix this issue and some of the visual damage without having to replace anything just yet?

Seems like you have tried most stop gap measures. I think your best bet is to buy a headlight online, check rockauto. I know you are broke, but between the lamps and glue/tape/supply you might end up spending more money. Also, this is a safety issue too-your life is not cheap, neither are tickets.

1 Like

I was gonna say carparts.com has some in the $60-70 range, depending on what year your car is. A junkyard might have some too. Keep in mind a non-working or broken headlight might attract cops.

Would I be able to replace the headlight myself or do you think I’d have to pay a professional to do it? I usually replace/fix things on my own as long as I know it won’t be ridiculously complicated. My car is a 2010 Dodge Charger.

Head on over to the library and get hold of a Haynes or Chilton manual for your car. It will describe the replacement procedure, then you can decide if you want to tackle it. Usually changing these assemblies is easy enough. But before you incur cost ask the other drivers insurance to cover it, if they hit you they are responsible.

1 Like

Why isn’t your insurance covering the damage? What other damage is there?