2015 Dodge Charger Passenger Side Headlight Cover Cracks

Hi folks,

First time here! Greetings!
I have a specific question. My passenger side headlight cover is cracked due to a previous accident. I have been driving it since then for a few months and it works fine. But it failed the 2020 inspection. After going to one bodyshop they recommend replace the whole assembly which charges me 1150$ just for component (i searched on line and found some better deal)
My question is that is the crack fixable just by replacing the cover to pass the inspection since it works fine for me tho it exposes the circuits to potential danger.
Do I have to replace the whole passenger side headlight assembly?

Thanks
Duo

The law is the law! I would look in a wrecking yard for a used one. Many vehicles are rearended and written off while the entire front is still usable.

2 Likes

https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/dodge,2015,charger,5.7l+v8,3308869,body,headlamp+assembly,10762

Tester

Nope, I know of no way to do that.

Depends on where you are. I see lots of cars running around St. Louis with red tape on the taillights.

We’re talking headlights. And this is to pass inspection. I haven’t seen replacement headlight ‘covers’.

I sometimes see headlight lenses that are practically opaque, like the ones on my wife’s old Altima, yet somehow the owners manage to license and operate them. IMHO that’s little different than minor cracks.

Either an aftermarket replacement part for around 450 or an oem used part from an auto recycler (I'd guess around 100-200) seems the best bet if you want to diy and save a little . If you feel lucky surf over to the pick and pull website, see if they have a 2015 dodge charger on a lot near to you. If you drive there for a look-see, even if the headlights are missing, they’ll probably be able to tell you which make/model/years use this same headlight.