Used car purchase

I am a college student shopping for a ‘new’ used car.

I am on a very fixed purchase budget (only $6,000 including tax, tags, title).

Right now I have two cars I am interest in. The first one is a 1999 Subaru Impreza Outback with 80,500 miles.

According to the Carfax and AutoCheck records, it was a single owner car, served as a corporate vehicle and appears to have been regularly serviced at the original dealer’s shop. However, my concern is that some reports have said that this model can have problems with the catalytic converter in its later years.

The second car is a 2003 Hyundai Elantra with 69,000 miles. This car has had 2 owners. Elantras after 2002 typically have good ratings. However, Hyundai just issued a recall concerning front sub-frame corrosion in this model. I am a little bit worried about the fact that the vehicle was offered up for sale about a month after this recall was issued. Since, I live in a place with long winters and frequent road salting, this is obviously a crucial concern.

My questions are 1)What signs should I look for when test-driving the cars? 2) In your experience, which make/model is more reliable?

A couple of observations:
Impreza: is overdue for timing belt due to age ($500-700). Ask if work got done or deduct from your offering price
Elantra: I think it should have had a timing belt change at 60K miles. Ask for proof of the work.

I would be inclined to go for a the lower mileage, younger car. While the Impreza is nice, there are potential AWD issues if Subaru guidance concerning tires was not followed.

Choose one, and have a trusted independent mechanic go over it stem to stern. Use that info to lower the price or get stuff fixed before you buy. Make sure he is aware of your individual concerns about the car.

Consumer Reports rates the Impreza as the more reliable car, overall.

Thanks, this is really good info. How should I go about getting the dealer to let me take the car to an independent mechanic?