Tap removal

well any suggestions? there is no end sticking out and there is also a punch stuck in my front fork holder holes

You need a welder!

If possible, center a hex nut over the broken tap, and weld the nut to the tap through the center of the nut. Let it cool, and see if the broken tap will turn out.

Tester

im a welder, and its good thinking, but youll never get anything welded to tempered steel, and if you do, it wont hold long enough to get the tap out, thanks though

Hey! Don’t tell me this doesn’t work!

I’ve removed broken taps and EZ-outs using this method. And if you can’t do this, it means you can’t weld.

Tester

well, maybe you can, ill try it, but the second i told my dad, he said it would never work so i took his word for it

If you’re thinking of using an arc welder or a wire feed welder, forget it! You have to silver solder the nut to the tap.

You need an oxy/acetalene outfit for the heat, and the silver solder and flux.

Clean the broken tap as good as possible, and apply the silver solder flux to the top of the broken tap. Take a hex nut and burn off the galvanizing coating with the torch. Coat the inside of the nut with silver solder flux.

Place the nut over the broken tap, and apply the heat to the center of the nut until the silver solder flows. Allow the weld to cool. Now try backing out the tap.

Tester

Anything can be welded.

Rather than trying to weld to the tap, it may be easier to break it. Taps are very hard, and as a result they become somewhat brittle. You’ve already discovered that, it’s why the tap broke.

I’ve shattered broken taps; it’s not easy to do, but it can certainly be done. Once broken into pieces it’s usually still difficult to get out, but it can be done. You just have to hit it, and hit it hard, with something else that’s as hard as it is.

see, i have nothing but a few migs and arcs