Stupid and I know it

Two identical cars leave for a destination 100 miles away. One drives 70mph and the other drives 55mph.

The faster car arrives at destination earlier than the slower.

By virtue of driving for a longer period of time does the the slower car burn about as much fuel as the faster?

I drive a truck for a living and my personal car is a gas-licking Toyota Yaris. I was just curious.

I have a Yaris also. If I drive it 100 miles at 55 mph I’ll get much better mileage than at 70 mpg.

It’s not the amount of time you’re driving that makes the difference. It’s the amount of gasoline you’re using to obtain a certain speed that counts.

I poked a stick in this hornets nest a few months ago myself.
Many variables here from one vehicle type to the next ; engine rpm, final drive ratio, etc for the individual truck.
–here’s the hornets nest poker…in MY ONE truck ( not yours and not either of my other two ) I see better round trip mpg at 82 mph -vs- 75. DON’T START ARGUING YET people cuz I know I’d get even better mpg @ 55mph , but I really am not inclined to go that slow for the trip I take weekly to Albuquerque and back ,zzzzzzzzz.
But in many cases you’ll find an engine’s “sweet spot” and realize better mpg at slightly faster speeds than others >> not all faster speeds… IT TAKES TRIAL AND ERROR EXPERIMENTATION and isn’t true in all cases, or all vehicles.
—But generally, if you can drive just above the shift point of your highest gear ( so it doesn’t continually shift down again ) you’ll see the best mpg for YOUR vehicle,------- ie; highest available transmission ratio -&- lowest available engine rpm will result in your personal best MPG at speed.

Will you get wetter if you run through the rain or(decreasing your overall time in the rain,but hitting more rain drops)or walking in the rain?

The front of you gets wetter, the top is drier running…
The top gets wetter, the front is drier walking…
hmmm.