Fuel efficiency better at higher speeds?

I drive a '92 Buick Skylark, 2-door, w/ a 2.3L 4 Cylinder 120 hp engine 3 Speed Automatic Transmission, A/C broke long ago.

Occasionally, I find cause to take a road trip and keep track of my fuel efficiency and average speed along the way. I recently set a new personal record of 383 miles on a single tank of gas (~14.2 gallons), averaging ~27 mpg at nearly 75 mph.

Over the years, I have noticed a trend contrary to the popular opinion that slowing down increases fuel efficiency. I find that the faster I drive, the more fuel efficient my car becomes. It seems to me that my car is most efficient at speeds well in excess of 80 mph. Could this really be true, or am I discounting certain variables?

I am far from an automotive engineer, but that really does not sound right to me. Perhaps someone with greater knowledge will have a different opinion.

There are things in the design of an engine that can give better mileage at slightly higher speeds, but the Brothers have said usually best mileage will be at the lowest speed at which your car will shift into the highest gear or overdrive (assuming automatic transmission.)

For example on my Sienna, it will lock up the OD at around 40-45 mph.

By memory here, correct me folks, the losses due to air speed go up four times as your speed doubles. In any case, air resistance goes up as the speed increases, thus air resistance at 80 mph will be much, much higher than at 40. So, even if for some reason your motor is set up to get better performance at higher rpm, the air resistance should be much higher.

Do be aware that not all gas pump shutoffs will work exactly the same, so on one trip, mileage can very dramatically because the fill came out differently. I see a lot of variation on long trips, between fills, but over a 1500 mile trip, with three or four fills, I can see an average.