Stop honking at me - i'm a good driver

Why is it ever since I bought a Lexus RX350 all the men in the world who can’t wait 30 seconds for me to make a turn, decide they need to honk at me? They didn’t do it when I drove a Isuzu Rodeo. And this isn’t even in Massachusetts, but in California! Are they jealous or just stupid? I have to vent as it is making me crazy and I don’t want to have road rage. Any suggestions on how to handle these incidents?

It’s not your driving, it’s that part of your skirt that’s hanging out of the bottom of the door and dragging on the ground that we’re trying to call your attention to.

Why does it take you 30 seconds to make a turn?

They are in Minnesota too. Some years ago the timing chain went on my Riviera at a stop light. I had the hood up, flashers going, and a tow called. When the light turned green, the guy in back of me started honking. What an idiot.

30 Seconds? Get used to that honking

That was you?

Every time I see an RX350 or similar I just roll my eyes and get prepared for the self-absorbed driving habits that are so often associated with them. And yes, 30 seconds is a really long time.

Mostly though, I sense someone who is now hypersensitive to other drivers because s/he is feeling conspicuous and isn’t comfortable with that feeling. I think that wondering about jealousy is just one symptom of that discomfort with one’s own conspicuous consumption.

I sense that it won’t take long for this thread to get closed.

When you say you are taking 30 seconds to make the turn, are you making a left hand turn and waiting for the oncoming traffic to pass, or are you just sitting in the lane deciding on whether or not to make a turn?