Squeaky brakes- 2000 Corolla

I am a driving instructor and lately when I take students out for lessons in my 2000 Corolla, often there is a squeaky noise coming from the rear of the car when they brake. It doesn’t happen all the time with my students and I rarely get the noise myself when I drive. I took the car both to the dealer and an independent mechanic and complete diagnostic checks, I was told by both that my brake system was fine and perfectly safe. I know there shouldn’t be this sound though and I’m wondering if anyone might know what else might cause a squeaking sound when brakes are applied. Is there some other thing, like maybe the shocks or something else that could be causing the noise during braking?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Kim Probst

You need to give more information. Is it a quick squeak, or a steady squeak or a pulsing squeak? Very high pitched or low? The only thing I can offer is 1. sometimes if you step on the brake very softly you can make them squeak, and 2. If it happens right after a stop when the parking brake was applied quite firmly it could be because the rear calipers (and drum brakes too, I think) adjust out a little bit with a firm pull on the handbrake.

Thanks- I guess I would have to say it was a steady squeak and sometimes it even sounds a bit sloshy- like the car is vibrating back and forth and squeaking and/or sloshing with the stop. It tends to be worse on steep hills (I live and teach in San Francisco), but it’s not even always a problem on hills. The thing is, I’ve been teaching for five months now and this problem didn’t happen right away, it just started around the beginning of November, which is when I had it examined by the dealer, so I’m thinking if it was something in particular about how my students drive (or try to drive) I would think it would have started happening right away.