Spark Plug Blew Out/Camry

Okay I Have a 98 Toyota Camry, Bought it as Is. Got home and had a Crack at the Top of the Radiator, okay that means im having to put water in it just about every single day. Don’t run hot as long as I keep an eye on the water level. I’ve been driving it like that for about 3 months and a week ago the second spark plugs and decided to shot out while I had it in reverse. A friend says it only needs tightening and it will run again just like that. And it did. BUT it still runs with a little hesitation when I’m idle. These “ABS” Light has been on but it came on ONLY after we put a spare tire on. I’ve been scared to run the A/C but I have to keep making it to my job so I can fix my ONLY way of transportation. If anyone has any Opinions or Options on what I shouldn’t do or what’s the first thing I should Do on getting this fixed or Looked At. Do I just need new Sparks/wires or is something stripped to make it still hesitate a lil. Thanks. IMG_20180711_162016

Honestly, it sounds like the car has multiiple problems and I don’t think there is a one size fits all fix for this.

A spark plug blowing out means that someone in the past did not tighten it enough or they tightened it too much which then damaged the threads. If so, it will blow out again.

Plugs and wires are a start but if it were me I’d run a compression test with the plugs out just so I would have a rough idea of what I’m dealing with.

5 Likes

The ABS light is on because the wheel speed sensor sees the mini spare rotating faster than the other 3 wheels. I don’t believe the ABS works when the light is on. Otherwise, you need a shop to take a look at it. Just my $.02.

4 Likes

The hesitation at idle could be due to compression being lost through a poorly seated and sealed spark plug. A compression test is a worthy basic diagnostic that helps decide the internal workings of the engine: are the valves and the piston rings sealing OK, etc.