Need a new radiator....please help!

Last week I got an oil change and a transmission service. Dealer says I need a new radiator cap, but that radiator is fine. I get a new cap.

Yesterday, my car severely overheats, and it smoking, etc. Coolant all over the inside of the hood. Friend says that they think the cap wasn’t on tight enough. We fill it with water, let it run, and the fan turns on (fan didn’t turn on before because fluid was too low) and it seems ok.

I take it to the shop to get more coolant and let them know what happened. then they say my hoses are old and not bendy, and that I have a leak in my radiator. They want $350 to replace it with a regular part, or $250 for an after market part.

Is this a reasonable price? I am not good with cars, so I wouldn’t be able to do it myself. I drove this morning, and temperature stayed below the middle mark, and I drove about 15-20 miles.

CamaroGirl, been having a bit of trouble lately? The radiator may have been damaged in the latest overheating episode and sprung a leak, perhaps not. You need to clean up the mess. Get the cap on properly, refill with cooland and run the car for a bit keeping an eye on the coolant levels. If it stabilizes in a couple of days and there is no indication of more leaks you maybe OK. If the radiator is leaking you will see the coolant level dropping and a need to top it off. Radiator hoses, and heater hoses, get softer when they are hot. If they are old replacing them with new clamps is a good idea.

Right now you have coolant all over the place and you need to cool off the car and calm yourself down and then really get into what is going on with your car’s cooling system.

I am guessing an older car? If so use aftermarket and make sure all the older hoses are tight.

$250 is quite reasonable to replace a radiator for parts and labor.

CamarroGirl, replacing the radiator cap is often the first step taken since it is cheap. It is likely you didn’t need a radiator cap at all.