Smaller SUV - Towing

We are in the market to buy a three-row SUV where the third row is used often. We have three kids - 6,4,1. Two boosters and one child seat. We occasionally pull a 2600 pound boat/trailer in the summer. Is a V8 better than a V6 for sporadic towing?

V6 will be rough, but V8 will burns your pocket abit more. I’d go with a big SUV with a V* for stable and power.

Thanks jimmy, any suggestions on a smaller suv that has a v8?

LOL, my fav is Infinity FX45, but there are plenty, 4Runner? Durango? Really it’s the money. I’m a mechanic, so it’s a different view here, i like speed with fuel consumption, 4Runner V8 are reliable, they mostly are AWD, look for a 4WD would last you longer than an AWD. That’s my truck LOL

We tow a small sailboat a little each year; the boat and trailer weigh about 2500+ lbs. Generally we only tow the boat to a lake to launch it each spring and retrieve it each fall, so I guess that this would qualify as “sporadic” towing.

We use a 1996 Mitsubishi Montero with a 3.0 L V-6 with no problems. (This is actually the smaller of the two engine options for this vehicle.) I think that the towing capacity is rated at about 4,400 lbs. Also, this model has two fold-down seats in the “way back”.

The best part is that I bought the Montero for $3,500 AND I can get 20+ mpg on the highway.

Good luck!

Martin
Lake Tahoe

When you launh and pull boats up, you should use 4wd low, not high. Saving the trans life.

Do you need an SUV? Because a truck-based minivan would work, too. The only relatively new ones available are the Chevy Astro/GMC Safari, but they can seat 7, and have the ability to tow around 5000lbs. Unfortunately, GM stopped making them in 2001 or 2002.

V6 will be rough

BULL…2600lb trailer is Class II. I NEVER had a problem towing 3000lbs with my 98 Pathfinder or my 05 4runner…both with V6’s. In fact I don’t have a problem towing near it’s rating of 5000lbs.