Simple DIY for Maintenance

I’m rather new to the DIY repair and maintenance of cars. We have street parking and no garage and my wife worries that someone will run me down while I’m working on our car. Nonetheless, I’ve learned from youtube how to change my own headlamp bulbs and I can’t believe I’ve ever paid anyone to do that task.

Next up I’m changing air filter which appears pretty simple and fast.

What are some other tasks that I should be considering? When I was 14 I changed out my Dad’s alternator on his 94 Chevy S10 pickup, but that’s when I was young, reckless and didn’t drive. I’d like to work my way up with some simple stuff first.

Looking forward to your suggestions and to getting to know everyone on the forums!

Welcome :smiley: ! How busy is your street and how steep? If it’s not too busy or steep you could probably change your oil and filter yourself. Do you have ramps or jacks and jack stands for lifting the car up? If you have jacks and stands you could probably do tire rotations too

Thank you! :slight_smile:

Street isn’t too busy most of the time and it’s flat. Right now it’s downright treacherous as the gas company is detouring people through our street (all summer) while they tear up the entire town.

I have neither ramps nor jacks. I’ve shimmied under the old Vibe a time or two because the plastic bit came off and I quick-tied it back up so it wouldn’t vibrate everywhere. Very tight fit!

I would not recommend any sort of car work in which you have to lift the vehicle or get under the vehicle for any reason. Even on a street that sees light traffic, all it takes is for that one drunk idiot to come along at the right time and slam in to the back of your car…

Stick to the stuff you can do quickly while standing. If you want to get into more, wait until you’ve moved to a place with a garage, or at least a driveway.

3 Likes

I appreciate your honesty and straight-forwardness!