Should I get a new car?

I have a 1999 Ford Taurus that I’ve been driving for the last 7 years and haven’t really had any major problems with it. The transmission is a little clunky (love those Taurus’!) but other than that haven’t had any major issues.

I recently moved to Florida and took my car in for some work (my radio was stolen) and when my mechanic looked at my engine he started laughing and remarked that it was amazing I hadn’t been stranded yet but didn’t give many details and recommended I find a new car. Another friend of mine that is mechanically oriented said much the same thing.

My question is, do I listen to them and get in the market for a new car? I own this car outright and enjoy not making any car payments so am not too excited about the idea of making payments on a car. The second part of my question is, what should I get? I am an outdoorsy person who goes backpacking, snowboarding and likes offroading but also commute to work everyday. So please! Assist me in trying to make the right decision regarding whether or not I should buy a new/used car!

Without knowing what’s wrong with the engine, I doubt anyone can give you meaningful advice.

Exactly. That’s why I doubt I need to get a new car. All they said was it’s going to leave me stranded somewhere and I should get a new car. But I question their bias against a ford as well. It’s never broken down on me before and I keep a regular maintenance schedule.

Neither is really helping you out. Have them tell you exactly what the issues are. Post the info back here, and then someone can help you make a rational decision. That may help sort out “Ford bias” vs what is really happening to the car.

If you have kept up maintenance, and had no previous breakdown issue, I am not so sure these two folks are speaking with any reasonable authority. What may “look bad” is not always a mechanical issue that needs to be repaired.