Should I be working on my poor old Jeep?

The poor Jeep hasn’t started in years (it’s a 1994, hasn’t run since '05). That’s just fact. But from what I’ve heard, to get it up and going, I need to replace the rear differential, as well as tinker a bit on the engine, seeing as when it did run, it would over-heat a bit.

I’m a struggling College Student/ Photographer, so I need an actual vehicle to get from site to site, as well as school.
As it stands now, I’m next to broke, and a big job is coming up soon where I might just get enough cash to get those 800-1100 dollar repairs up and going.

Should I? Or should I be looking in a junk yard for differentials and MAYBE, do it right?
WHAT SHOULD I DO?

I suspect you will spend a bunch more than $1,100 to make the Jeep road worthy. Can you change out a differential yourself? If yes, you might have a shot since labor will be more expensive than a used part.

Getting the motor running is the big issue. If it overheated before the head gasket or worse the head are likely bad and therefore the engine could need lots of work and money. My guess is the Jeep wasn’t prepped for storage so the gas is bad and the fuel system could have lots of problems as a result. Even if you get it running and put in a differential, you still have brakes that likely bad and electrical parts that have spider infestations and how about mice eating any of the wiring?

I think the Jeep is a junker now and might be a good donation to a local high school or Voc Tech school as a project car. Otherwise sell it to a junk yard for a few $$$ and take your money from the job and get another car.

Without knowing a great deal more about the condition of the Jeep when it was parked, it’s impossible to guess. It sounds like it had some serious problems when it last ran.