Send help power steering

So I know nothing about cars, and I’m just a college student in need of advice. I have a 2011 Ford Fusion and it has the electric power steering and it’s not working. It hasn’t been working for about 3 years now and it’s been bugging me. Does anyone know about how much it would cost to fix this? Please be nice :joy:

With knowing why it stopped working I’d venture anywhere between $0 and $5000. After all it could be anything from a loose connection to needing a complete power steering assembly.

4 Likes

Click on “Repair Shops” at the top of this page and find a good mechanic to look it over.

There is a recall, started in 2015, for Fusions without the 3.6 L engine. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford’s number for this recall is 15S18. Check with them and see if your car is part of the recall and whether it was serviced for it before.

2 Likes

Nice or not nice has nothing to do with car repair prices (unless you really tick off the mechanic).

Unfortunately, the list of repair shops on this site is hopelessly outdated and inaccurate. You may have better luck asking around locally for recommended shops.

3 Likes

As JT said, if there is a recall, or to determine if there is a recall, you must go to a Ford dealership. Not hard to find. They at least can provide a cost estimate and diagnosis if they won’t cover it. Then you can use that to shop around for a cheaper alternative. I would hurry though, the car is not getting any younger. Before you graduate though, I would highly recommend adding an economics and a business law course. They will be mighty helpful in the challenges ahead.

There’s also yelp.com

NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID:
15V340000

Report Date:
JUN 02, 2015

Vehicles Affected:

Consequence:
If the vehicle experiences a loss of power steering assist, extra steering effort will be required at lower speeds, increasing the risk of a vehicle crash.

What You Should Do: