Self service gasoline

Unlike the thread on gasoline prices, here’s a link to an interesting article that I hope will not provoke controversy. Why New Jersey and Oregon still don't let you pump your own gas - CNN

With selling fuel with such low profit margins the reluctance for self serve is hard to understand . I doubt if being a pump jockey pays enough even for part time kids .

"Violators can be fined up to $500 for breaking these states’ laws"

Yes, in theory, but–in practice–I don’t believe that this has ever happened in NJ. I have no experience with Oregon, but NJ’s mythical gas pump police are not waiting behind a tree so that they can jump out and present violators with a summons.

Not only do I get no objections from gas jockeys when I pump my own gas, but most of them actually thank me for doing so.

Because there is so much misinformation on the topic of full-service gas stations in NJ, I thought I would provide a link to an article on the origin of the regulation banning self-service stations. The regulation was actually requested (and paid for :wink:) by the state association of gasoline retailers, who objected to the cut-rate tactics of one retailer. The only thing that the article’s writer got wrong was the name of the gas retailer who kicked-off the debacle. His last name was Reinauer, not Reingold.

https://www.nj.com/opinion/2014/02/the_real_reason_self-service_gas_was_banned_in_nj_corruption_not_safety.html

My beer is Reingold the dry beer. ( When is the last time you heard that?).

1 Like

Do you remember their annual Miss Rheingold beauty contest? You could cast your vote in a liquor store or a tavern.

Here is the slate of candidates for 1953. If you look closely at their names, you will see that one of them did go on to stardom… briefly:

I do remember the Miss Rheingold promotion, and Miss Subways

As a kid in Brooklyn, I remember thinking…
Who would want to be named after the grimy, smelly, rat-infested NYC Subway?