See the USA in my .....?

What…what should I get to wander the US? I am close to fulfilling my dream of driving across country truly gunkholing by car since I’m such a bad sailor. Any ideas of a good, NOT expensive, used? car that would be good for such an adventure? I was kinda hoping for a Vanagon or very small rv but don’t see either…but if someone knows of any let me know! Of course gas mileage is pretty critical as well…maybe I should stay home :frowning:

Since you don’t have a schedule, and are by yourself, almost anything will do. However, to enjoy your trip, stay away from anything with Volkswagen written on it, unless you are a mechanic by trade.

Some travel in the summer and drive a compact car and have a tent to pitch at campsites; or stay in bed & breakfast when they want a comfortable night’s sleep.

Years ago I helped a German exchange student who finished his studies here, and wated to tour North America before returning to Europe. I bought him a 6 cylinder, 2 door Pontaic, with stick shift, power nothing, in reasonably good shape for a few hundred dollars.

He stayed a YMCAs, tent camped and used B & Bs as needed. In late October he called me back just before leaving and said he had travelled 32,000 miles across Canada and the USA, and sold the car for $100 less than he paid. I asked him if he had any trouble, and he reported only a $28 fix in the gearshift!

A small van or hatchback style car, and a sleeping bag is probably the way to go, but pack a tent, a small camp stove and an electric cooler in the backseat; there are many great campsites to be enjoyed. Stay away from anything with too many opitions, like my German friend did.