Old Fashioned VW Van Adventure

Howdy doo all!

I am currently a student studying and writing from Kathmandu, Nepal with a question about my next adventure.

I will soon be returning to the States and entering my Senior year of college and am planning an epic post-graduation trip with a friend of mine. The plan is to buy a good old-fashioned VW van and drive it from Boston across the country and then back through Canada to end up at Niagara Falls. Well, either that or drive until the van falls to pieces and we have to bum money to get home.

Not to be deterred, I am wondering if anyone has any advice on where in the northeast I could buy such a beautiful vehicle (or one that still has four wheels anyway) and what some suggestions are as to what to expect to repair before leaving and along the way.

Also, any stories of your own adventure would be much appreciated (and amusing as well).

Much obliged for your help!

From a damn naive college student,

-eben yonnetti

A road trip can be a truly enjoyable and broadening experience.
However, attempting a road trip in an ancient VW van is more likely to be one featuring inconvenience, delays, and a risk to your safety.

When these vehicles were new, they were slow and ungainly.
After several decades of use, any VW van that you find will be even slower, as a result of having lost quite a few of its original 40 horsepower. One of these vehicles would struggle to accelerate (at glacial speed) up to 55 mph on an expressway, while traffic roars past you at 65-75 mph. In other words, the vehicle is a hazard on the road to both those riding in it and to those who have to share the road with it.

Then, we have the reliability factor. While many repairs on these vehicles are fairly easy, they will be very frequent.

And, then we have the factor of passenger protection in the event of a crash.