Salvage title

I’m looking at another car, 2001 Audi A4

It has a ‘salvage’ title, which is a term I’ve not heard before.

What are the implications of the salvage title?

The dealer said he has had it checked out and sees no signs of accidents (of course, I could have it check out myself). He said he thinks it ‘salvaged’ because it looks like the paint on the hood had acid poured on it. He is getting the hood repainted.

2001 AUDI Quattro Turbo Wagon, 80K. Salvage, runs great, auto. $5,995.

http://pho…dVisor.jpg

although i am not an insurance professional, i believe the salvage title means the car was totalled out and paid off by an insurance company. this typically means that the car was sold for “parts only”. i would be VERY leary of buying such a car. it may have underlying body, structural, or hidden damage issues which would come to light (of course) after you drive it for a while.

on second thought, it could have had flood damage, which may (on the outside look fine) but again, after a while, you never know what rust out issues and electrical problems you may get.

i would stay away from this deal, (and dealer) if you cant get an honest answer from him regarding the history of this car.

if you MUST, get the VIN number and run a CARFAX report on it. it will cost you some money, but it would go a long way to confirm or put to rest any thoughts of whether you should buy it or not. just a warning though, i have heard of CARFAX reports being unreliable and not complete as of the day they are printed. i think this has to do with the delay between reporting damages, and CARFAX updating their database.

is it an S4?
I did a search on kbb.com and the s4 turbo, like the one you describe, runs about $15k private party, so the pricing would be about right.