Salt air on metal parts

Hi everyone. I just inherited a 1997 Celica GT convertible with 66k miles. Runs awesome. Looks great.

Some minor cosmetic issues I want to address. The car lived under cover in Florida its whole life so it appears some salt air damage has been done to the trim around the top. I’ve attached a few pics

Before I go and screw it up myself does any one have any suggestions? Maybe there’s some kind of cleaner for this?

I am looking at black powder coated aluminum trim with corrosion popping thru the black coat.

Removing it takes find sandpaper a semi-flat black spray paint. Mask it off with paper and tape so you don’t get paint on other parts. Or take the part off before you sand and paint.

1 Like

50 50 white vinegar and water will gently remove rust but like said you may need to sand and just refinish.

I am a useless DIY painter etc. would a standard body shop be able to handle it?

Similar corrosion on the metal parts inside the top. I’m

Yes a body shop could handle it. They might not want to, but they can.

Hahaha. I find that paying cash usually helpswith small jobs! Plus I’ll give them more
Work since I have a teen age daughter who likes to bump into drive through poles SMH

Thanks all. Tried the vinegar. Didn’t budge

A good auto detailer could do it, how fun is that car! Talk to them first and see what they say,

1 Like

Maybe its not rust. At any rate there are any number of rust removal products at an auto store and then turn it black. A good one is Rust Mort that I only found at Summit Racing and no longer at any of the parts stores around. I think it was $30 for a pint by the time you paid for shipping. DuPont made a product called Metal Conditioner that was an acid that would eat the rust. I havent bought it for 30 years and was expensive then for a quart. Most of the stuff will turn the rust black instead of eating it off but that is such a small area shouldn’t matter/

1 Like