Rplacing Timing Belt

I have a 1999 Subaru Impreza Outback sport with a 2.2 liter engine and it’s time to replace the timing belt. I’m a fairly competent mechanic. Should I attempt this repair and where can I find a manual for free (I’m a cheapskate otherwise I would pay someone to do this)

It depends on how you define “fairly competent mechanic.” Personally, I would pay someone to do it. Messing up this kind of job can cost a lot more money in the long run. In addition to replacing the belt, it usually involves replacing the belt tensioner, the water pump, and the crank shaft seal if it is leaking oil. It also involves setting the timing correctly. If you have the money, shop around for the best price and look for coupons to satisfy your inner cheapskate.

I replaced the timing belt on my '96 Legacy 2.2 liter with the help of a Haynes service manual. It took me about five hours start to finish. The hardest part was keeping the engine from turning while loosening the crankshaft bolt. My car is an automatic. If you have a manual transmission this would not be as much of a problem.

I’m not a professional mechanic but I had all the necessary tools and I can follow instructions. I bought a timing belt from a local parts store. The belt came with timing marks on it that made lining everything up relatively easy. You still have to count belt teeth between pulleys, but if you take your time and double-check everything you’ll be OK.

The nice thing about the 2.2 engine is that it’s NOT an interference engine.

A Haynes manual doesn’t cost much. You might be able to get a used one at http://www.booksforcars.com

I suggest replacing the water pump, thermostat, and radiator cap while you have the timing belt off and it’s easy to get at.

I agree with Whitey.